Barishal seal playoffs spot with thrilling victory

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 20

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Fortune Barishal vs Beximco Dhaka

Toss : Beximco Dhaka won the toss and decided to field first.

Fortune Barishal : 193/3 in 20 overs (Towhid 51, Afif 50, Saif 50; Al-Amin 1/5, Rubel 1/28, Muktar 1/48)

Beximco Dhaka : 191/6 in 20 overs (Naim 105, Yasir Ali 41, Sabbir 19; Suhrawadi Shuvo 3/13, Rabbi 1/41, Sumon 1/44)

Result : Fortune Barishal won by 2 runs.

Fortune Barishal became the fourth team to qualify for the playoffs of Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 with a 2 runs victory in a high-scoring encounter against Beximco Dhaka. Defending 193, Barishal won the match despite Naim Sheikh heroics.

In reply to the massive target of 194, Dhaka needed a solid start and they got though Sabbir Rahman and Naim Sheikh. But Suhrawadi Shuvo shifted the balance to Barishal by picking up 3 wickets in no time including Sabbir, Mushfiqur and Al-Amin 19, 5 and 0 respectively.

But Naim Sheikh had other idea who then went onto score his maided T20 which almost pulled off the match for Dhaka. Naim eventually got out on 105. Yasir Ali chipped in with 41 but it was not enough as Barishal restricted Dhaka for 191 for 5.  Suhrawadi claimed 3 wickets for 13.

Earlier Barishal posted a total of 193 for 3 thanks to fifties from Towhid, Afif and Saif. Following Tamim and Saif’s 59-run opening partnership, Towhid and Afif ended the Barishal innings on high with their unbeaten 91 runs partnership. Towhid remained unbeaten on 51 off 22 and Afif was on 50 off 25 balls. Al-Amin, Rubel and Muktar shared 1 wicket each.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: