Mashrafe, Jahurul carry Khulna to Final

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Qualifier 1

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Gazi Group Chattogram vs Gemcon Khulna

Toss : Gazi Group Chattogram won the toss and decided to field first.

Gemcon Khulna : 210/7 in 20 overs (Jahurul 80, Mahmudullah 30, Shakib 28; Mustafizur 2/31, Mosaddek 1/27, Sanjit 1/50)

Gazi Group Chattogram : 163/10 in 19.4 overs (Mithun 55, Mahmududul 31, Liton 24; Mashrafe 5/35, Ariful 1/24, Shakib 1/32)

Result : Gemcon Khulna won by 47 runs.

Player of the Match : Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Gemcon Khulna clinched an easy win against Gazi Group Chattogram and confirmed their place in the final of Bangabandnu T20 Cup 2020. Khulna defeated Chattogram by 41 runs in the Qualifier 1 at at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Chattogram will get another chance to change their fate in the competition when they will meet Beximco Dhaka in the Qualifier 2 on tomorrow (December 15) at the same venue. Match will start from 4:30 pm.

Chattogram who dominated the group stage, suffered a massive setback chasing 211 as they lost their both in-form opener Soumya Sarkar and Liton Kumar early. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza grabbed both the wickets. Chattogram skipper then rebuild the innings with 73-run stand with Mahmudul Hasan before the later dismissed after scoring 31. Mithun picked up his first fifty in the tournament but it was all but over for Chattogram after his dismissal on  55. Eventually Chattogram managed to score 155 for 7 in 20 overs. Mashrafe was the star of the show as he picked up maiden 5 wicket haul in T20s conceding 35 runs.

Earlier in the evening Khulna were put into bat first and Jahurul Islam took no time to prove the decision wrong. Jahurul made his career best T20 knock of 80 to set the platform for a big total. Later Mahmudullah charged on the Chattogram bowlers with his 9-ball 30-run knock as Khulna posted a mammoth total of 210 for 7. Mustafizur Rahman scaled 2 wickets for 31.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: